Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell Review

Traitor's Blade (Greatcoats, #1)Traitor’s Blade follows a story of Falcio. He is the first Cantor of the Greatcoats. Trained in the fighting arts and the laws of Tristia, the Greatcoats are travelling Magisters upholding King’s Law. They are heroes. Or at least they were until they stood aside while the Dukes took the kingdom, and impaled their King’s head on a spike.

I have mixed feelings about this book. The booktubers that I watched say that this book is amazing and funny. But, it’s not. There are jokes and humour but only in the first part of the book. And then there are some awkward conversations where the characters will talk with full exposition, and it’s not a good one, if you read them, you’ll see that no one will talk like that. There’s also a scene where Falcio explains something to his attacker, which doesn’t make sense. No one will tell their enemy how their tool works unless they’re an anime character. There are also many interruptions in the middle of fighting scenes where Falcion just explain to the reader how his technique works. And if you read the words on the cover, it says that there’ll be jaw-dropping surprises. There’s none. I can guess what would happen and all of them are true. On the subject of the villain, this book is similar to The Lord of The Rings. All of them are bad, so bad that you can’t help but hate them. But at the same time I also mad at the author. I always like and enjoy a villain that I can understand, but the villains in this book are not. They’re just evil, and that’s it. There is also some inconsistent character personality. I also don’t like sex magic in this book, because I see no point of them. Also, some of the chapters can be a bit tedious for me, because I feel like the author is trying to send me messages that the book want to tell by hitting me repeatedly on the head.

This book is not fully bad though. The book is fast and easy to read. And I like the moments where Falcio, Kest, and Brasti just talk with each other. There are also fight scenes that if you ignore the interruption is enjoyable. The motivation of the main character is understandable. I think it’s mostly the writing that’s able to cover the problems that I found.

Conclusion:

Despite many problems in the book, it’s still enjoyable to read. Will I continue reading the series? Maybe, but it’s not high on my to-be-read list.

Also, why is the title of the book Traitor’s Blade? I really don’t understand.

Any book that you think I should read? Tell me in the comment.

So, yeah.

Leave a Reply

