Rose Madder by Stephen King review

Roused by a single drop of blood, Rosie Daniels wakes up to the chilling realisation that her husband is going to kill her. And she takes flight – with his credit card.

Alone in a strange city, Rosie begins to build a new life: she meets Bill Steiner and she finds an odd junk shop painting, ‘Rose Madder’, which strangely seems to want her as much as she wants it.

But it’s hard for Rosie not to keep looking over her shoulder. Rose-maddened and on the rampage, Norman is a corrupt cop with a dog’s instinct for tracking people. And he’s getting close. Rosie can feel just how close he’s getting…

Despite Stephen King’s fame I only ever read two of his works. The first one is The Gunslinger and this book is the second. I certainly will read his other books. The stand has caught my attention and I also want to finish The Dark Tower series. Curiously this book has quite a low rating for Stephen King’s book. The reason as to why I read this book despite me wanting to read Prince of Fools and Guards! Guards! is because this book is a homework that my English teacher gave.

The moment I read the first page I can see clearly that this’s Stephen King’s work. It’s dark and depressing. My emotion turned dark as I read this book. Not because that it’s a bad book, but it’s because of the way that Stephen King writes that made me afraid for the characters. This book is certainly a fresh point of view for me that mostly read epic fantasy. The main character is not a warrior with a sword and magic, she’s a scared woman that barely able to protect herself. And the several chapters that are spent on delving into how Rose was treated by Normal felt gut wrenching. I usually don’t like a villain that has no redeemable aspect but the small pieces of Norman’s past made me understand why he became like this. This book also has romance. Which I can’t say much about, except that it doesn’t annoy me. This book is a bit slow but I think it plays well that it doesn’t make me frustrated. Norman’s anger is like a wake-up call to me, who also has a little anger management issue, though it certainly not as bad as Norman’s. It taught me that anger can be a serious problem if left alone. As I’ve mentioned before this book has quite a low rating on Goodreads (3.66 stars) and I found out that the main problem of this book is the unexpected fantasy turn. And fantasy is not a genre that many people like so . . . Anyway, I will warn you that this book has fantasy element on it so don’t go around complaining about it after I’ve warned you.

Conclusion:

A good book that you should check out if you like paranormal fantasy with a thriller.

Leave a Reply

