Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett Review

Here there be dragons . . . and the denizens of Ankh-Morpork wish one huge firebreather would return from whence it came. Long believed extinct, a superb specimen of draco nobilis (“noble dragon” for those who don’t understand italics) has appeared in Discworld’s greatest city. Not only does this unwelcome visitor have a nasty habit of charbroiling everything in its path, in rather short order it is crowned King (it is a noble dragon, after all . . .).

Meanwhile, back at Unseen University, an ancient and long-forgotten volume–The Summoning of Dragons–is missing from the Library’s shelves. To the rescue come Captain Vimes, Constable Carrot, and the rest of the Night Watch who, along with other brave citizens, risk everything, including a good roasting, to dethrone the flying monarch and restore order to Ankh-Morpork (before it’s burned to a crisp). A rare tale, well done as only Terry Pratchett can.

This book was brought to attention by Brandon Sanderson. Not that I know him personally. Even if I wish that I do. I watched his writing class videos and he said that this book was really good. So, I check it out. I know that I said that I would read Gardens of the Moon in my August read but I got distracted. Sorry. Oh, while this book is the eight on the series. You can actually read it without reading the previous books.

Anyway, I can say that this book is great. This is not the first time that I read a book with humour in them (If you have read my previous reviews you’ll certainly know about this). But Terry has some different humour than what I’m used to. The humour even seeps into the characters, unlike Dresden Files which humour only materialized in Harry dialogues and descriptions. I guess this book is more . . . anime-ish. It’s really not that bad. Terry is able to weave the story that the humour doesn’t come as awkward and out of place. As for the characters. The night watch is not typical heroes. Many of their action can be called as cowardly, except Carrot of course. There’s only one female character in this book but she’s great. The plot is amazing, I can’t predict the ending. And I love Vetinari (I hope to see him more). Amazing book and I look forward to read other books in the series. It’s such a shame that Terry Pratchett has passed away (I just knew this, amazing right?) because I know that I will enjoy his book.

Conclusion:

Definitely, read if you like fantasy book with heavy humour.

Leave a Reply

